Markakis, Hardy and Jones win Gold Gloves

BALTIMORE— The Orioles went a perfect 3-for-3 in Tuesday’s Rawlings Gold Glove awards with J.J. Hardy, Adam Jones and Nick Markakis each winning in their respective positions to tie Baltimore with Kansas City for most in the Majors.

Hardy, Markakis and Jones —who was interviewed live on the ESPN2 award show—will be presented with the award later this week in New York.

Hardy won the American League shortstop Gold Glove for the third consecutive year, edging out Chicago’s Alexei Ramirez and the Royals Alcides Escobar. Hardy is the first Oriole to win Gold Gloves in three straight years since pitcher Mike Mussina did it with four from 1996-2000.

Hardy led AL shortstops in Total Zone Runs (14), was second in range factor per game and double plays turned, third in fielding percentage (.978) and assists (394), and fifth in putouts (187).  Hardy’s three career Gold Gloves are second-most among active shortstops, trailing only Jimmy Rollins (four).

“This is a special award for me because of the fact that the opposing managers and coaches are the voters,and obviously I have a lot of respect for them and their knowledge of the game,” Hardy said in a statement released by the team. “A lot of the credit goes to Bobby Dickerson, who puts in a lot of time and effort with us and puts us in a position to be successful.”

It is Jones’ fourth career Gold Glove Award, also his third straight, after a 2014 in which he led AL center fielders in games played (155), was fourth in assists (7) and fifth in putouts (374).  Paul Blair (seven straight, 1969-75) is the only O’s outfielder to win a Gold Glove in more consecutive seasons than Jones.

Jones said in a statement he was honored to receive the award and, like Hardy, took pride in the fact that he was recognized by opposing managers and coaches.

“I also want to acknowledge the efforts and dedication of Wayne Kirby and Bobby Dickerson,” Jones said. “Their tireless and diligent efforts to help me and all of our players on the defensive side of the game cannot be overlooked or underestimated.”

It is the second Gold Glove for Markakis, who also won in 2011, and he joins Paul Blair and Jones as the only outfielders to win a Gold Glove in club history.  This season, Markakis led AL right fielders in games (147), putouts (295), and fielding percentage (1.000) while ranking second in assists (11). 

“It is a great honor to win the Gold Glove,” Markakis said in a statement. “It is an individual award, but a lot of people contribute to it. Wayne Kirby is a great influence on the outfielders and does a great job preparing us and putting us in the right position to make plays.”

The Orioles have won a total of 70 Gold Glove awards, most of any AL team and second in the majors to the St. Louis Cardinals.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: