Johnson, Jones, Showalter honored with Legacy Awards

Three Orioles were among those honored when the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum announced its annual Legacy Awards on Friday in closer Jim Johnson, outfielder Adam Jones and manager Buck Showalter.

The Legacy Awards, established by the NLBM in 2000, recognizes the best Major League baseball players, managers, and executives, with awards given in the name, and spirit, of Negro Leagues legends such as Charleston, Doby, Bell, Josh Gibson and Buck Leonard. The Legacy Awards honors both on- and off-the-field achievement and are presented to recipients from both the American League and National League.

Johnson was named the AL recipient of the Hilton Smith Award for reliever of the year, along with Atlanta’s Craig Kimbrel for the NL, while Jones was the sole winner of the John Henry “Pop” Lloyd Award for baseball and community leadership:

Showalter, along with Reds manager Dusty Baker, was selected as the C.I. Taylor Award for manager of the year.

The full list of awards, which includes Angels rookie Mike Trout as AL MVP, can be found here. The Legacy Awards will be presented on Saturday night, Jan. 12, at the Gem Theater, just across the street from the museum in Kansas City.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: