Orioles vs. Tigers lineups & non-Draft notes

*Nick Markakis is back in the lineup today, but in an unusual spot: leadoff. Markakis is batting leadoff for the first time in his Major League career, with Chris Davis also making his first career start in left field. Endy Chavez was also activated from the disabled list, with rookie Xavier Avery getting sent back to Triple-A Norfolk to get some regular playing time.

*Nick Johnson received a cortisone injection in his right wrist at the team’s spring facility in Sarasota, Fla. and he’s not close to starting baseball activities yet.

*Taylor Teagarden is catching for Class-A Delmarva tonight and if all goes well he could an option as early as Saturday, according to manager Buck Showalter.

*The O’s rotation for the rest of the series (after Jason Hammel) is Wei-Yin Chen followed by Chris Tillman, who will be called up from the Minors to make that start. Tillman had a work day of sorts with Monday’s start in Bowie and Miguel Gonzalez will pitch the first game of the Twins series on Monday.

Zach Britton is the likely candidate for Tuesday, although Showalter said the club could also go with long man Dana Eveland. Britton is fresh off seven scoreless innings for Triple-A Norfolk Thursday and the organization has been encouraged by his last few outings.

*Tomorrow, Saturday, July 14, Hall of Fame pitcher Jim Palmer  will be the third Oriole honored as part of the Orioles Legends Celebration Series. A larger-than-life bronze sculpture of Palmer will be revealed in a ceremony in the Legends Area beyond center field beginning at 2:15 p.m. All gates open at 2:00 p.m., and all fans in attendance will receive a replica of the sculpture. Palmer will also be honored in an on-field ceremony and will throw out the ceremonial first pitch prior to the game.

Earlier this season the Orioles honored Frank Robinson and Earl Weaver. Three more ceremonies are scheduled for Eddie Murray (August 11),  Cal Ripken, Jr. (September 6) and  Brooks Robinson  (September 29). Fans are encouraged to visit www.orioles.com/legends for more information and to purchase tickets for the unveilings.

Nick Markakis RF
J.J. Hardy SS
Jim Thome DH
Adam Jones CF
Matt Wieters C
Chris Davis LF
Mark Reynolds 1B
Wilson Betemit 3B
Robert Andino 2B

Jason Hammel RHP

Austin Jackson CF
Quintin Berry LF
Miguel Cabrera 3B
Prince Fielder 1B
Delmon Young DH
Brennan Boesch RF
Jhonny Peralta SS
Alex Avila C
Ryan Rayburn 2B

Doug Fister RHP

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: